Tailormade Tours


Soccer has always been the limelight in sports of Holy Cross College. The excellent performance in the field of this sport continues. During the year 2008/2009 our College soccer team have achieved great heights. The college organized the under 19 invitation seven a side soccer tournament under flood lights for the second time of its history. Seventeen schools took part in this and our College emerged champions beating Al Hameedia College, Colombo in the finals. The College became the champions of the Zahira Super 16 Soccer Sevens organized by Zahira College, Colombo. The under 17 soccer team won the third plce in the seven a side invitation tournament organized by the Ananda college Colombo. At the under 15, five side tournament which was organized by Kalutara Seevalee College, the team emerged champions. The best eight teams of Kalutara District took part in this tournament. The under 15 soccer team emerged champions of the Beach soccer tournament organized by the Kalutara Soccer League. The Master in Charge of the College soccer team is Mr. Dilan Rukantha de Silva and the three coaches are Mr. Leslie Fernando, Mr. Roshan Malinga and Mr. Piyadasa Fernando.



During 2008/2009 the College Cricket Team have shown with the bat and the ball why they are considered as one of the best in school cricket, not only in the Kalutar district but also among all the other school cricket teams of the island. The 1st eleven team had the greatest satisfaction in winning all the tournament matches organized by the Sri Lanka School Cricket Board. The College team became the group champions and as a result got the honour of getting promoted to Division one category. In the six a side cricket tournament organized by the Kalutara District Umpires Association, the College was the runners up losing by a narrow margin, in the finals. The under 17 Cricket team winning a considerable amount of matches did well to enter the second round in the all island tournament conducted by the Sri Lanka School Cricket Board. The Holy Cross College Cricket Academy is one of the best in the Kalutara district. There are over 50 young talented boys who have enrolled in the academy.

During 2009/2010 the most outstanding achievement of Holy Cross College Cricket was when master Ayesh Madushan was named as the most popular outstation school boy crickter of the year.

Tailormade Tours


Chess, a game which is introduced to the College in the recent past has brought many laurels. In the under 9 chess tournament organized by the Sri Lanka School Chess Association Mas. Minipul Gunawardane of Holy Cross College was placed third in the Western Province segment. In the under 12 group Mas. Ravindu Heshan was selected as a member of the all island under 12 chess team. In the under 11 western province chess competition the college was placed second, while in the all island school chess contest the college won the third place. At the Kalutara District chess competition held at Sri Pali College, horana in the under 11 age group Holy Cross College won the 1st place and in the under 17 age group the college was placed third. In this competition Mas. Ravindu Nisansala was selected as the best chess player in the under 17 age group. Mas. Rukmal Pavithra won the first place at the district chess competition organized by the All Island School Chess Association. Mr. Shrimal Chrisanthas is the Master in Charge and Mr. Sumal Horawela Vithana is the coach of the College chess teams.



During the past few years the College has shown a great progress in Badminton. In the Kalutara district Zonal competitions the under 13 and under 15 groups became the champions. While in the under 19 doubles the College became the champions. In the All Island under 15 Badminton teams Championships 2008, the College Badminton team was placed as runners up in the E division sector. This year at the Kalutara Zonal competition the under 13 single and double teams won the championships. For the first time in history of Badminton the College under 16 and 19 Badminton teams won the Sri Lanka School all island E division championships defeating all the other prestigious schools in the island. Mr. Lakmal Sampath is the Master in Charge and Mr. Mervyn Fonseka is the coach of the College Badminton team.



The year 2009 can be considered as the golden year in the field of athletics. In the divisional competitions of the Kalutara district, the College athletic team baceame the champions in the under 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 groups. The college was able to win the overall championship as well. In the Zonal meet of Kalutara District the College became the champions in the under 17 and under 19 age groups. Once again the whole team became the overall champions. At this Zonal meet, Mas. Tiran Asanga and Mas. Purna Randeera were selected as the best athletes of under 17 and under 19 age groups respectively. Mr. Claude Ranasinghe and Mr. Ravindra Mendis are the school’s athletic coachers.